JCET Faculty

Senior Personnel

Senior Research Professors:

Belay Demoz
Professor
bdemoz@umbc.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Zhibo Zhang
Sr. Res. Professor
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters

Associate Personnel

Research Associate Professor:

Kevin Turpie
Res. Assoc. Professor
kevin.r.turpie@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo

Associate Research Scientist:

Chung-Lin Shie    
Assoc. Res. Scientist
chung-lin.shie@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys

Assistant Personnel

Research Assistant Professors:

Adriana Rocha Lima 
Res. Asst. Professor
limadri1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Jianwu Wang
Res. Asst. Professor
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters

Assistant Research Scientists & Engineers:

Roberto Borda
Asst. Res. Scientist
rfborda@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Vanessa Caicedo
Asst. Res. Scientist
vacaiced@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Antony Kinyua
Asst. Res. Scientist
antony.kinyua@morgan.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
John Hall
Research Engineer
Analyst: Margo Young
Aharon Turpie
Research Engineer
Analyst: Margo Young
Ian Decker
Research Engineer
Analyst: Margo Young

Post Doctoral Research Associate:

Anin Puthukkudy
Post. Doc. Res. Associate
anin1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young

Faculty Research Assistants & Engineers:

David Barbato
Interpreter
barbato1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Valerie Casasanto
Program Coordinator
valerie.a.casasanto@nasa.gov
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Dominik Cieslak
Engineer
cieslak@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Yomiyu Fekadu
Engineer
yomiyuf1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Selwyn Hudson-Odoi
Faculty Res. Assistant
selwyn.x.hudson-odoi@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Danny Nelson        
Faculty Res. Assistant
dnelson@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Joe Shields
Faculty Res. Assistant
Analyst: Margo Young
Lena Shalaby
Faculty Res. Assistant
shalaby1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Kent Taguba
Faculty Res. Assistant
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Pranav Maniktala
Faculty Res. Assistant
Analyst: Judith Laferriere

Fellows:

Dr. Robert F. Cahalan  
Senior Scientist
robert.f.cahalan@nasa.gov
Thorsten Markus
Program Manager
Ernest Hilsenrath
Professor of Practice
hilsenrath@umbc.edu
Harvey Melfi
Founder

Graduate Research Assistants:

Adeleke Segun
– Ademakinwa

Graduate Assistant
adeleka1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Kamal Aryal
Graduate Assistant
karyal1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Laura Bayona-Roman    
Graduate Assistant
eh41210@umbc.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Alrick Green
Graduate Assistant
agreen15@umbc.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Kylie Hoffman
Graduate Assistant
kylieh1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Neranga Kaluappuwa
Graduate Assistant
neranga1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Maurice Roots
Graduate Assistant
mroots1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Noah Sienkiewicz 
Graduate Assistant
noah.sienkiewicz@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Rachel Smith
Graduate Assistant
rsmith12@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Karyn Tabor
Graduate Assistant
ktabor1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Qianqian Song
Graduate Assistant
qqsong@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Achala Denagamage
Graduate Assistant
dwick1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Jianyu Zheng
Graduate Assistant
jzheng3@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Hannah Seppala
Graduate Assistant
hseppal1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Roshan Mishra 
Graduate Assistant
kn82613@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys

Administrative Personnel

Margo Young 
Director
mayoung@umbc.edu
Belay Demoz 
Director & Professor
bdemoz@umbc.edu
Zhibo Zhang
Assoc. Director for Academics
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Catherine Manalansan
Executive Administrative Assistant I
cmanalan@umbc.edu
Pam Deal
Administrative  Assistant II
pamdeal@umbc.edu
Camilla Hyman-Waters
Business Manager
hyman1@umbc.edu
Judith Laferriere
Business Manager
jslaferr@umbc.edu
David Lucadamo
Business Specialist
lucadamo@umbc.edu
Paula Tanabe
Business Specialist
ptanabe@umbc.edu
Eric Vooys
Business Specialist
ericv2@umbc.edu