JCET Faculty

Senior Personnel

Senior Research Professors:

Belay Demoz
Professor
bdemoz@umbc.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Ana Prados
Sr. Res. Scientist
aprados@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Zhibo Zhang
Sr. Res. Professor
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters

Assistant Personnel

Assistant Research Scientists & Engineers:

Roberto Borda
Asst. Res. Scientist
rfborda@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Ian Decker
Research Engineer
Analyst: Margo Young
John Hall
Research Engineer
Analyst: Margo Young
Antony Kinyua
Asst. Res. Scientist
antony.kinyua@morgan.edu
Analyst: Judith Laferriere
Aharon Turpie
Research Engineer
Analyst: Margo Young

Faculty Research Assistants & Engineers:

David Barbato
Interpreter
barbato1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Valerie Casasanto
Program Coordinator
valerie.a.casasanto@nasa.gov
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Dominik Cieslak
Engineer
cieslak@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Yomiyu Fekadu
Engineer
yomiyuf1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Selwyn Hudson-Odoi
Faculty Res. Assistant
selwyn.x.hudson-odoi@nasa.gov
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Danny Nelson
Faculty Res. Assistant
dnelson@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Joe Shields
Faculty Res. Assistant
Analyst: Margo Young
Kent Taguba
Faculty Res. Assistant
Analyst: Judith Laferriere

Fellows:

Dr. Robert F. Cahalan  
Senior Scientist
robert.f.cahalan@nasa.gov
Thorsten Markus
Program Manager
Ernest Hilsenrath
Professor of Practice
hilsenrath@umbc.edu
Harvey Melfi
Founder

Graduate Research Assistants can now be found under GESTAR II.

Administrative Personnel

Margo Young 
Director
mayoung@umbc.edu
Belay Demoz 
Director & Professor
bdemoz@umbc.edu
Zhibo Zhang
Assoc. Director for Academics
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Catherine Manalansan
Executive Administrative Assistant I
cmanalan@umbc.edu
Pam Deal
Administrative  Assistant II
pamdeal@umbc.edu
Camilla Hyman-Waters
Business Manager
hyman1@umbc.edu
Judith Laferriere
Business Manager
jslaferr@umbc.edu
David Lucadamo
Business Specialist
lucadamo@umbc.edu
Paula Tanabe
Business Specialist
ptanabe@umbc.edu
Amy Houghton
Communications Specialist
amyh@umbc.edu
James Hale
Asst. Director, ESRA
jhale4@umbc.edu
Karlyn Buker
Analyst
kbuker1@umbc.edu