Skip to Main Content

JCET Faculty

Senior Personnel

Senior Research Professors:

Belay Demoz
Professor
bdemoz@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Larrabee Strow
Research Professor
strow@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Lorraine Remer
Research Professor
remer@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Vanderlei Martins
Professor
martins@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Zhibo Zhang
Sr. Res. Professor
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters

Senior Research Scientists:

Anne Thompson
Sr. Res. Scientist
anne.m.thompson@nasa.gov
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Erricos  Pavlis
Sr. Res. Scientist
epavlis@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Huisheng Bian
Sr. Res. Scientist
Huisheng.Bain-1@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Jay Herman
Sr. Res. Scientist
herman@umbc.edu
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Yaping Zhou
Sr. Res. Scientist
yaping.zohu-1@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys

Associate Personnel

Research Associate Professors:

Ali Tokay
Res. Assoc. Professor
ali.tokay-1@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Ana Prados
Res. Assoc. Professor
aprados@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Christopher Shuman 
Res. Assoc. Professor
cshuman@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Fred Huemmrich    
Res. Assoc. Professor
huemmirc@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Kevin Turpie
Res. Assoc. Professor
kevin.r.trupie@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Nader Abuhassan
Res. Assoc. Professor
nader@umbc.edu
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Pengwang Zhai
Res. Assoc. Professor
pwzhai@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Petya Campbell
Res. Assoc. Professor
petya@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Sergio De Souza-Machado
Res. Assoc. Professor
sergio@umbc.edu
Analyst:  Paula Tanabe
Stephen Guimond
Res. Assoc. Professor
sguimond@umbc.edu
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Tamas Varnai
Res. Assoc. Professor
varnai@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla
Hyman-Waters
William Olson
Res. Assoc. Professor
bill.olson@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo

Associate Research Scientists & Engineers:

Arif Rustem Albayrak
Assoc. Res. Engineer
rustem.a.albayrak@nasa.gov
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Chenxi Wang
Assoc. Res. Scientist
chenxi.wang@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Christopher Hepplewhite
Assoc. Res. Scientist
chepplew@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Chung-Lin Shie    
Assoc. Res. Scientist
chung-lin.shie@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Howard Motteler
Assoc. Res. Scientist
motteler@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Robert Tyler
Assoc. Res. Scientist
rtyler@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Tianle Yuan 
Assoc. Res. Scientist
tianle.yuan@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Yujie Wang                
Assoc. Res. Scientist
yujje@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys

Assistant Personnel

Research Assistant Professors:

Adriana Rocha Lima  
Res. Asst. Professor
limadri1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Amita Mehta
Res. Asst. Professor
amita.v.mehta@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Ruben Delgado
Res. Asst. Professor
delgado@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Jason St. Clair
Res. Asst. Professor
jason.m.stclair@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave Lucadamo
Jianwu Wang
Res. Asst. Professor
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters

Assistant Research Scientists & Engineer:

Lee, Jae N. Jae Nyung Lee 
Asst. Res. Scientist
jae@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla
Hyman-Waters
Jasper Lewis
Asst. Res. Scientist
jrlewis@nasa.gov
Analyst: Dave
Lucadamo
Myungje Choi    
Asst. Res. Scientist
myungje.choi@nasa.gov
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Richard Xu
Asst. Res. Scientist
xxu@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Roberto Borda
Asst. Res. Scientist
rfborda@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Ryan Kramer
Asst. Res. Scientist
ryan.j.kramer@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Vanessa Caicedo
Asst. Res. Scientist
vacaiced@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla
Hyman-Waters
Yingxi Shi
Asst. Res. Scientist
yingxi.shi@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys

Post Doctoral Research Associates

Sujung Go
Post. Doc. Res. Associate
sujung.go@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Daniel Miller
Post. Doc. Res. Associate
daniel.j.miller@nasa.gov
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Chamara Rajapakshe
Post. Doc. Res. Associate
chamara.rajapakshe@nasa.gov
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters

Faculty Research Assistants & Engineers

David Barbato
Interpreter
barbato1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Valerie Casasanto
Program Coordinator
valerie.a.casasanto@nasa.gov
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Dominik Cieslak
Engineer
cieslak@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Benjamin Cramer
Engineer
ben.cramer@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Keith Evans
Faculty Res. Assistant
evans@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Yomiyu Fekadu
Engineer
yomiyuf1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Selwyn Hudson-Odoi
Faculty Res. Assistant
selwyn.x.hudson-odoi@nasa.gov
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Magdalena Kuzmicz-
Cieslak
Faculty Res. Assistant
magdak@umbc.edu
Analyst: Paula Tanabe
Danny Nelson        
Faculty Res. Assistant
dnelson@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Joe Shields                
Faculty Res. Assistant
Analyst: Margo Young
Lena Shalaby                
Faculty Res. Assistant
shalaby1@umbc.edu

Visiting Scientists:

Shin-Chan Han
Visiting Scientist
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Diego Loyola
Visiting Scientist
dloyolar@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young

Fellows:

Dr. Robert F. Cahalan  
Senior Scientist
robert.f.cahalan@nasa.gov
Markus Thorsten
Program Manager
Ernest Hilsenrath
Professor of Practice
hilsenrath@umbc.edu
Melfi Harvey
Founder

Graduate Research Assistants:

Adeleke Segun
– Ademakinwa

Graduate Assistant
adeleka1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Kamal Aryal
Graduate Assistant
karyal1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Laura Bayona-Roman    
Graduate Assistant
eh41210@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Alrick Green
Graduate Assistant
agreen15@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Kylie Hoffman
Graduate Assistant
kylieh1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Waters-Waters
Neranga Kaluappuwa
Hannadige
Graduate Assistant
neranga1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Anin Puthukkudy
Graduate Assistant
anin1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Maurice Roots
Graduate Assistant
mroots1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Noah Sienkiewicz 
Graduate Assistant
noah.sienkiewicz@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Rachel Smith
Graduate Assistant
rsmith12@umbc.edu
Analyst: Margo Young
Qianqian Song
Graduate Assistant
qqsong@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Achala Denagamage
Graduate Assistant
dwick1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Jianyu Zheng
Graduate Assistant
jzheng3@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Hannah Seppala                
Graduate Assistant
hseppal1@umbc.edu
Analyst: Camilla Hyman-Waters
Roshan Mishra 
Graduate Assistant
kn82613@umbc.edu
Analyst: Eric Vooys
Mumin Abdulahi 
Graduate Assistant
abdmumi1@umbc.edu

Administrative Personnel

Margo Young 
Director
mayoung@umbc.edu
Belay Demoz 
Director & Professor
bdemoz@umbc.edu
Zhibo Zhang
Assoc.Director for Academics
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu
Catherine Manalansan
Executive Administrative Assistant I
cmanalan@umbc.edu
Pam Deal
Administrative  Assistant
pamdeal@umbc.edu
Camilla Hyman  Waters
Business Manager
hyman1@umbc.edu
Judith Laferriere
Business Manager
jslaferr@umbc.edu
David Lucadamo
Business Specialist
lucadamo@umbc.edu
Paula Tanabe
Business Specialist
ptanabe@umbc.edu
Eric Vooys
Business Specialist
ericv2@umbc.edu
Halley Thompson
Staffing Specialist
halleyt@umbc.edu